Agency Information
The Lakeshore Ethnic Diversity Alliance works to dismantle barriers to ensure people of all ethnic backgrounds have equal access and opportunity to participate fully in the life of the community.

Influenced by national dialogue and research on racial equity, the Diversity Alliance forms a bridge between formal and informal leaders and individuals throughout our community and region. This model establishes credibility, expertise, and accountability; increases visibility and awareness; and fosters defined, sustainable initiatives and outcomes.

Today the Diversity Alliance represents a broad cross-section of interests and cultures. Hundreds of volunteers and a growing staff work on initiatives throughout the region, alongside dozens of area CEOs and stakeholders engaged in moving forward a vision of racial equity. To view our extensive media archive, click here...


Gail Harrison, Executive Director 

Sarah Salguera, Program Director
Alfredo Hernandez, Associate Program Director
Eunice Ruiz, Migrant Programs Associate
Claudia Armijo, Reading Program Associate

Yah-Hanna Leys, Fund Development Associate
Patricia Strachan, Administrative Associate
Diane Rodriguez, Accountant
Teresa Van Oosterhout, Grant Writer

Nancy Collins, Northwest Ottawa Diversity Associate

Board of Directors

Amy Otis-De Grau, Chairperson
Hope College

Zahabia Ahmed-Usmani, Vice Chairperson
Ottawa County Great Start Collaborative

Abraham Gonzales, Treasurer 
Law Office of Abraham Gonzales

Latoya Booker, Secretary
Aquinas College

Nancy HaynesEx Officio Past Chairperson
Fair Housing Center of West Michigan 

Jack Dykstra
Holland Police Department
Simone Jonatis
Grand Valley State University
Paula Kendra
Kendra Consulting
Reyna Masko
Ottawa County
Aimee Vanden Elzen
Johnson Controls, Inc. 
Quincy Williams
Grand Valley State University

Advisory Council

The CEO Advisory Council, comprised of chief executives and community leaders, helps establish leadership consensus regarding key priorities, action strategies and performance measures that will have the greatest impact on achieving community and organization cultures that are genuinely welcoming and inclusive to all.

James W.F. Brooks, Council Chair
Managing Partner | Brooks Capital Management


Franco Bianchi                                                                                   President/CEO | Haworth, Inc.

Jud Bradford                                                                                       Chairman | Bradford Paper Company

Leslie Brown                                                                                        Chairman | Metal Flow Corp.

John C. Knapp                                                                                               President | Hope College  

Tony Castillo                                                                                                  Owner | Milagro Six, Inc

Noel Cuellar
CEO | Primera Plastics   

Becca Dernberger
Vice President | Manpower

Kurt Dykstra
Mayor | City of Holland

William Fettis
Partner | Investment Property Associates                

Thomas Haas
President | Grand Valley State University

Nelson Jacobson
President/CEO | JSJ Corporation

Dorothy  A. Johnson
President Emeritus | Council of Michigan Foundations

Larry Koops
Senior Vice President | Fifth Third Bank

Bruce Los
Senior Vice President | GentexCorp.

Rodney Martin
Diversity Partner | Warner, Norcross & Judd

Scott Huizenga
Partner | Varnum Law

Dale Nesbary
President | Muskegon Community College

Mat Nguyen
President | Worksighted

Jeffrey Padnos
President | Louis Padnos Iron & Metal    

Richard J. Pappas, Ed.D
President | Davenport University

Elizabeth Rolinski
Director of Operations | Johnson Controls, Inc.

Dale Sowders
President/CEO | Holland Hospital

Alan G. Vanderberg
County  Administrator | Ottawa County 

Brian Walker
President/CEO | Herman Miller

Holly Johnson
President | Grand Haven Area Community Foundation

Michael Goorhouse
President | Holland/Zeeland Area Community Foundation